HomeBureaucracyAppointmentsFour ex bureaucrats in race for assembly, voter turnout to seal their...

Four ex bureaucrats in race for assembly, voter turnout to seal their fate

Four former bureaucrats are trying their luck on three seats in Rajasthan. Even if all results go in their favour, maximum of three can make it to the .

While on Bassi seat Congress candidate former IPS Laxman Meena, who is also the sitting MLA, has taken on BJP candidate former IAS Chandra Mohan Meena, former chief secretary Niranjan Arya from Congress has challenged BJP's Shobha Chauhan, who is Arya's relative wife of an Rajesh Chouhan.

From Deoli Uniara former IPS Harish Meena, who is the sitting MLA, is again in the contest from Congress.

Bassi: Besides Laxman Meena and Chandra Mohan Meena, a strong candidate BJP rebel Jitendra Meena is also contesting as an independent candidate making it a triangular fight. Meena is a former Rajasthan University president and has a strong hold over youth votes. Bassi has a tradition of triangular fights and often independent candidate wins here. Last time Laxman Meena had won it as an independent candidate.
The voting percentage this time in Bassi is 78.37%. In 2018 elections, the turnout was more at 80.46% and in 2013 it was 79.76%. In 2008, the turnout was just 70.5%.

Expected result: The contest is tightly poised between the three candidate. Voter turnout lower than previous year makes it a tougher contest.

Sojat: In Sojat, the contest is between former chief secretary Niranjan Arya and sitting MLA Shobha Chauhan. The voter turnout this time is 68.31%. In 2018, Sojat recorded a turnout of 66.08% lower than this time. In 2013, when Niranjan Arya's wife Sangeeta Arya contested on this seat the turnout was 68.54%, almost equalling this time's numbers. Sangeeta Arya had lost the election to BJP's Sanjna Agari. In 2008, the voting percentage was even lower at 55%.

Expected result: The contest looks evenly poised with a slight advantage to the sitting MLA Shobha Chauhan. There is swing of little more than 2% votes from last time.

Deoli Uniara: From this seat, former general of police Harish Meena has contested up against son of Gurjar spearhead Vijay Bainsla of BJP. In this classic Meena V/s Gurjar contest, the voter turnout is 73% – almost 3% more than in 2018 when Harish Meena had won the elections. In 2013, the voting percentage was recorded at 72.66% while in 2008, it was just 65.2%.

Expected result: There is upswing of 3% votes due to candidature of Vijay Bainsla. Either voting has gone up from both the camps, or due to tough fight the turnout has improved. The ex DGP may find it difficult this time to surpass the challenge of Vijay Bainsla, who has got 8 criminal cases against him.

Vivek Shukla
Vivek Shuklahttps://www.thebuckstopper.com/
Vivek Shukla is a management graduate who has worked in corporate worked for 20 years and is now pursuing his passion — news.
- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular