HomePolitics and Current AffairsWill Gurjars vote for Congress this time?

Will Gurjars vote for Congress this time?

Politics Vivek Shukla Thebuckstopper

It's a million dollar question for which there are no options. In 2018, Congress won the elections with a thin margin of vote percentage – Gurjars voted in hordes – thanks to Sachin Pilot, who was then considered an automatic choice for chief minsiter post. As many as eight candidates from Gurjar won the elections out of which seven were from Congress while one was from BSP who later joined Congress. There was none from BJP.

Why Gurjars voted for Congress last time ?

Gurjars were hopeful that for the first time in the history, member from their community could become chief minister. They shifted from BJP to vote for Congress, which bagged 10 out of 13 seats in Gurjar dominated Karauli, and Sawai Madhopur districts. BJP drew a blank while three seats went to independents and BSP together.

Why there is doubt over Gurjars' vote for Congress

In the current government, three Gurjar leaders – two from Congress and one from BJP got prominence. While Sachin Pilot was made deputy chief minister along with other portfolios, Munesh Gurjar was appointed as Mayor of Jaipur Heritage. At the same time, BJP made Somya Gurjar Mayor of Jaipur Greater.

The Congress government ousted Pilot from cabinet and replaced him with Govind Singh Dotasara as Congress . Similarly, the party also removed Munesh Gurjar from Mayor post despite the fact that she also hails from Congress.

As far as BJP's Somya Gurjar is concerned, Congress government also removed her from Mayor post alleging irregularities and misbehaviour towards Commissoner. But Gurjar was reinstated following court orders.

“The Congress government has harassed respected leaders of our community including two from their own party. We will not forgive them this time. Gehlot government had made mockery of Sachin Pilot, who is epitome of perseverance and patience,” said Lala Gurjar from Dausa.

Gurjars have influence over 30-35 seats in 12 districts

In 2018 elections, BJP had given tickets to nine Gurjar candidates and none could win. Congress have 12 tickets and seven won. There are around 30-34 seats across 12 districts – Bharatpur, Dholpur, Karauli, Sawai Madhopur, Jaipur, Tonk, Dausa, Kota, Bhilwara, Bundi, Ajmer and – where Gurjars votes matter.

What is the situation now

At present Gurjars don't seem to be with Congress. They are angry with the treatment meted out to Pilot, Munesh Gurjar and Somya Gurjar.

“However, if Congress gives importance to Sachin Pilot in this elections, Gurjars if not with full force – 40% may again vote for the ruling party,” said Ganpat Gurjar of Sawai Madhopur.

Vivek Shukla
Vivek Shuklahttps://www.thebuckstopper.com/
Vivek Shukla is a management graduate who has worked in corporate worked for 20 years and is now pursuing his passion — news.
- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular