HomePolitics and Current AffairsBJP assigns former chief secretaries, DGPs to dig out corruption, loopholes in...

BJP assigns former chief secretaries, DGPs to dig out corruption, loopholes in Telangana’s KCR government

Retired bureaucrats look for assignments in government boards, commission and other regulatory bodies. But in Telangana, it's the opposition party – BJP – which has assigned retired bureaucrats including two former chief secretaries, acclaimed academicians and senior lawyers to study the governance model of Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao (KCR) and his party Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS).

The Objective

The BJP has instituted a team of around 20 intellectuals and former bureaucrats to study various and schemes of KCR government and bring out loopholes and corruption elements in the scheme. BJP, this time wants to go to public with facts and figures and tell them how KCR has failed to deliver to the people of Telangana in nine-year of his rule. The team has to dig out facts between the lines. They were asked to choose their area of interest such as finance, power, agriculture, roads, urban development etc and uncover the extent of corruption and mismanagement in each area with hard facts.

The Crack Team

The opposition BJP is trying to get a foothold in Telangana. It has only two seats in 119-seat assembly. It has 4 seats in out of 17 seats. Now that Telangana is due for elections later this year, BJP is trying to upset the applecart of KCR, who is ruling Telangana since its formation in 2014.

BJP has roped in two former chief secretaries IYR Krishna Rao and LV Subrahmanyam along with former R Chandravadan, retired officers – S K Jayachandra and T Krishna Prasad. The team also has legal brain in advocate Nagendra who is the brother of Jayaprakash Narayana, former IAS officer, who founded Lok Satta party.

IYR Krishna Rao is a 1979 batch IAS who retired in 2016 after serving as the chief secretary of . He had also served in various capacities in departments like Finance, Agriculture Marketing, Endowments, Land Administration.

He is said to have been instrumental in setting up the goals and structure of the development of new Andhra Pradesh after the split in 2014.

Similarly, L V Subrahmanyam, is a 1983 batch IAS officer, who had served as the chief secretary of Andhra Pradesh from April-November 2019 before getting transferred to Human Resources Development Institute with just 5 months left in his retirement.

A strict administrator, Subrahmanyam was unceremoniously transferred before the end of his term after he had sent a show cause notice to chief minister Jagan Reddy's principal secretary Praveen Prakash over an alleged procedural lapse.

Apart from that, top cops who retired as Director General of Police – S K Jayachandra and T Krishna Prasad – are also researching on loopholes of KCR model of governance.

S K Jayachandra, a 1978 batch IPS officer had served as the DG Police of AP Special Police Batallion in 2011 during erstwhile united Andhra Pradesh. During his stint as IG (Communications), he was involved in the preparation of indices to evaluate police officers. Jayachandra joined BJP along with his daughter Payal Nanda in the month of June this year.

Another retired 1986-batch IPS former Telangana Director General of Police (DGP) T Krishna Prasad has been entrusted the job of critical analysis of KCR government.

The BuckStopper Reporter
The BuckStopper Reporterhttps://www.thebuckstopper.com
The BuckStopper, run by a group of seasoned journalists, holds the powerful accountable. The buck stops with them, as they cannot shrug off their official responsibilities.
- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular