HomePolitics and Current AffairsTDP-JSP announce joint-candidate list for Andhra elections

TDP-JSP announce joint-candidate list for Andhra elections

Telugu Desham Party and Jan Sena Party reveal combined candidate list for assembly elections, as Bharatiya Janata Party alliance remains pending; YSRCP criticizes coalition while talks with BJP continue.

After thorough deliberations and consultations, Telugu Desham Party (TDP) led by Chandrababu Naidu and Jan Sena Party (JSP) led by Pawan Kalyan have unveiled their joint list of candidates for the upcoming in Andhra Pradesh (AP). The coalition, which aims to contest in 118 assembly constituencies, remains open to the inclusion of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in their alliance. A total of 99 candidates have been announced, with TDP fielding candidates for 94 seats and JSP for 24. Talks with BJP are ongoing, with both TDP and JSP awaiting an official response from the party.

Naidu and Kalyan disclosed the alliance details and candidate list, highlighting their collaborative efforts to provide a viable alternative in . The announcement comes amidst speculation about BJP's potential role in the alliance, particularly in the allocation of seats. Despite no official word from BJP yet, talks are underway, indicating a potential three-party coalition in the state.. “If the BJP comes forward, we shall take a call on allotment of the seats to that party accordingly,” Naidusaid.

However, the ruling YSRCP has criticized the TDP-JSP alliance, questioning Kalyan's independent stature in Andhra Pradesh politics. YSRCP's general secretary, Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy, dismissed the alliance as mere theatrics, emphasizing the overwhelming support for YSRCP's welfare schemes among the people.

Why Chandrababu Naidu Desperate for Re-alignment with BJP?

The relationship between TDP and BJP has been characterised by a rollercoaster of emotions. In 2019, Chandrababu Naidu, akin to Nitish Kumar's political manoeuvring, broke ties with the BJP citing the failure to secure special status for Andhra Pradesh. This rupture led to Naidu fiercely opposing Prime Minister Modi, rallying opposition parties against him during the 2019 elections. However, Naidu's efforts backfired, resulting in a resounding defeat for TDP and a loss of power to Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSRCP in Andhra Pradesh. Subsequently, TDP experienced an exodus of key leaders. Recognizing the political capital of brand Modi Naidu has exhibited a sense of urgency in realigning with the BJP. Meanwhile, Pawan Kalyan has been actively lobbying BJP's leadership to join forces with Naidu. Meetings between Kalyan, Naidu, and BJP leaders like Amit Shah and JP Nadda signify the earnest efforts towards forming an alliance. This unfolding dynamic has undoubtedly left Jagan Mohan Reddy wary, prompting him to engage with Amit Shah in to maintain a beneficial tacit understanding on mutual issues.

What is in the List of TDP-JSP?

The candidate list reflects a diverse representation, with candidates chosen based on extensive crowdsourcing and consultations with over 13 million people. TDP's list includes candidates from various communities and educational backgrounds, emphasizing inclusivity and meritocracy. TDP's 94 candidates comprises 17 candidates from Other Backward Classes (OBCs), 18 from Scheduled Castes, four from Scheduled Tribes, 19 from Kapu, one from Velama, four from Kshatriya, 12 from Kamma, 15 from Reddy, two from Vysya, one from minorities and one Balija community. TDP says that the list consists of 28 candidates with post-graduate degrees, 50 candidates with graduate degrees, 3 doctors, 2 PhD holders, and one IAS Officer. Notably, a joint logo for TDP and Jana Sena has been unveiled as part of their branding strategy.

While TDP-JSP alliance aims to decentralize power and prioritize people's aspirations, challenges remain within the coalition, with protests erupting in some constituencies over candidate selection. Despite this, both parties remain committed to their shared vision for Andhra Pradesh's development and progress.

Ramkumar Kaushik
Ramkumar Kaushikhttps://www.thebuckstopper.com/
Ram Kumar Kaushik is a seasoned journalist with over 25 years of experience across mediums. The architect of this news website, he is also a consultant with several media groups. He was formerly the group managing editor of ITV Network (NewsX, India News and The Sunday Guardian) and its digital products.
- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular